What are we getting this time? Event Horizon Telescope’s reveal awaits!

The last time EHT teased us like this, it revealed the first image of a black hole. Who would forget that?!

This is the first-ever image of a black hole as seen by the Event Horizon Telescope. (Image credit: NSF)

The Event Horizon Telescope (EHT) has discovered something amazing in the Milky Way galaxy, which its researchers are calling “groundbreaking.” But we won’t find out what that revelation is until Thursday (May 12).

The Event Horizon Telescope (EHT) team teased the discovery online, but the complete announcement will be made at 9 a.m. EDT (1300 GMT) during a series of news conferences sponsored by institutions all across the world. The public will be able to watch the Milky Way discovery events live. Following the press conferences, the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the European Southern Observatory (ESO) will have separate Q&A panels that will be streamed live on the internet.

The EHT is a global network of radio telescopes dedicated to studying black holes. Whatever the discovery is, it will undoubtedly be exciting. The following are the details for the live webcasts of the EHT announcements and accompanying Q&A sessions.

Live Streaming:

May 12, 3 p.m. CEST (1300 GMT) – The European Southern Observatory (ESO), which operates several of the facilities involved in the Event Horizon Telescope operations, will hold a press conference in Garching bei M√ľnchen, Germany, just outside of Munich.

Website: http://www.eso.org/live

Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/rIQLA6lo6R0

May 12, 9 a.m. EDT (1300 GMT) – The NSF will host its press conference in Washington, D.C., with live video broadcast online on the NSF website and the foundation’s Facebook page

May 12, 8 a.m. CDT (1300 GMT) – CONACyT, Mexico’s national science organisation, will hold a news conference in Mexico City, and it will be broadcast on the agency’s YouTube channel.

May 12, 9 a.m. CLT (1300 GMT) – The Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) of the NRAO/NAOJ/ESO and the Atacama Pathfinder Experiment (APEX) of the ESO, both of which participate in Event Horizon Telescope observing missions, will hold a press conference in Vitacura, Chile. Catch the live stream on the ALMA Observatory website 

Q&As:

National Science Foundation, 10:30 a.m. EDT (1430 GMT):

The NSF will hold a Q&A session with a panel of EHT researchers following the main announcement. It will be streamed live on the National Science Foundation’s website and Facebook page.

European Southern Observatory Q&A, 4:30 p.m. CEST (1430 GMT):

The public can also witness a Q&A session with a panel of EHT researchers on ESO’s YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: